Yesterday Today 7.21.16

This morning I spent the a few moments trying to catch the elusive (elusive to me at least) green heron.  While I did not see the THAT heron I caught a glimpse of a juvenile black crowned night heron, a whole mess of mallards, and a pair of swans with 3 growing cygnets.  That wasn’t all of course, Lex and I saw all sorts of birds including a new sighting for me: a blue grey gnatcatcher.  The full list of what we saw is below.

Black Crowned Night Heron 1 (juvenile)
Mute Swan 1 male/1 female/ 3 cygnets
Goldfinch 3
Blue Grey Gnatcatcher 2
Cedar Waxwing 6+
Downy Woodpecker 1 Male
Blue Jay 4
Canadian Goose 12+
Mallard 20+

image

On my way to Bourne I was dreading the traffic.  Thankfully, I didn’t run into any issues driving and as I hit the rotary I knew I’d have time to stop at the American Lobster Mart.  I’ve enjoyed an annual visit every year now for the past 10 years at least. Upon entering the establishment it’s obvious that there was a new owner. It was cleaner and more beautiful for sure – but the prices were noticeably higher. Higher even for the market. It was a little depressing – mainly because I bought Lex a $5 hotdog and it came with French fries – I paid almost $20 and received a small bag of chips. The roll was simple and not toasted, the lobster meat was certainly good but mostly bland.  Anyways, here is the grade for the lobster roll:

Sides: Bag of Cape Cod Chips Grade: D-
Price: $18.99 Grade: D-
Taste: Grade: C-

image

Leave a Reply

